The Hartwell Foundation


2019 Class of Hartwell Fellows

Memphis, TN, July 15, 2020 - The Hartwell Foundation announced its 2019 class of Hartwell Fellows, which provides funding to US citizens for postdoctoral training in biomedical science at select research institutions in the United States. The Fellowships offer support for two years at $50,000 direct cost per year to support scientists in the early stages of biomedical research careers by enabling them to pursue further specialized training as part of their professional development.

For each Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award that a participating institution receives in the annual Hartwell competition, the institution may designate one postdoctoral candidate of their choice from areas of biomedical science that exemplify the values of the Foundation. With eleven Hartwell Investigators in the Class of 2019 representing ten institutions, the following individuals will receive a Hartwell Fellowship:

Yale University

Lisa L. Korn, MD, Ph.D.

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Jorge Granados, Ph.D.
Internal Medicine

University of California, Davis

Melissa Cruz-Acuna, Ph.D.

University of California, San Diego

Granton Jindal, Ph.D.

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Jennifer K. Ocasio Adorno, Ph.D.
Developmental Neurobiology

University of Pennsylvania

Amy R. Poe, Ph.D.

Northwestern University

Sarah Jane Quillin, Ph.D.
Molecular Genetics

Johns Hopkins University

Connor Hall, MD, Ph.D.
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Andrew Garfoot, Ph.D.
Medical Biology and Immunology

Ryan Niemeier, Ph.D.
Biomedical Engineering

Duke University

Somayyeh Soltanian-Zadeh, Ph.D.
Biomedical Engineering

Case Western Reserve University

Licia Clowtis, Ph.D.

Each qualifying institution chose an exceptional individual with high promise in the field of biomedical research. The Fellowship will enable the recipient to pursue further specialized training in an area of science that they passionately wish to pursue. The Hartwell Foundation is honored to provide financial support to these outstanding young scientists.

Hartwell Fellows