The Hartwell Foundation


2008 Class of Hartwell Fellows

Memphis, TN, December 22, 2009 - The Hartwell Foundation announced its 2008 class of Hartwell Fellows, which provide funding to US citizens for postdoctoral training in biomedical science at select research institutions in the United States. The Fellowships offer support for two years at $50,000 direct cost per year to support scientists in the early stages of biomedical research careers by enabling them to pursue further specialized training as part of their career development.

Institutions that fully participated in the 2008 process for Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards received the right to designate a Hartwell Fellowship award, effective January 2009.  Qualifying institutions designated the following individuals in November 2008 to receive the award:

Cornell University

Brian D. Lamon, Ph.D.
Department of Pathology

Duke University

Luise Rogg, MD, Ph.D.
Department of Pediatrics

The Johns Hopkins University

Nilay Shah, MD
Department of Oncology

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Matthew Louis Bettini, Ph.D.
Department of Structural Biology

University of California San Diego

Shauna McGillivray, Ph.D.
Department of Pediatric Pharmacology and Drug Discovery: resigned July 2009 to accept a tenure track faculty position in the Department of Biology at Texas Christian University

Laura Crotty Alexander, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics: appointed July 2008 to complete remaining term

The University of Michigan

Guy M. Lenk, Ph.D.
Department of Human Genetics

University of Pittsburgh

Marsha P. Cole, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Stryder M. Meadows, Ph.D.
Department of Molecular Biology

University of Virginia

Chelsea Marie, Ph.D.
Department of Infectious Diseases

The University of Wisconsin Madison

Aziz Hatim Poonawalla, Ph.D.
Department of Medical Physics

The Hartwell Foundation is honored to provide financial support to these outstanding young scientists. Each qualifying institution chose an exceptional individual with high promise in the field of biomedical research. The award will enable the recipient to pursue further specialized training in an area of science that they passionately wish to pursue.


2008 Hartwell Fellow Louise Rogg, Ph.D., with mentor William Steinbach, MD, Duke University

2008 Fellow Chelsea Marie, Ph.D., with mentor William A. Petri, Jr., M.D., University of Virginia

2008 Hartwell Fellow Nilay Shah, MD, Johns Hopkins University

2008 Hartwell Fellow Brian Lamon, Ph.D., Weil Medical College of Cornell University

2008 Hartwell Fellow Stryder Meadows, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern

2008 Hartwell Fellow Aziz H. Poonawalla, Ph.D., The University of Wisconsin, Madison

2008 Hartwell Fellow Mathew L. Bettini, Ph.D.,  St Jude Children's Research Hospital

2008 Hartwell Fellow Marsha P. Cole, Ph.D.,  University of Pittsburgh

2008 Hartwell Fellow Lenk Guy, Ph.D., with mentor Miriam Meisler, Ph. D., The University of Michigan

2008 Hartwell Fellow Shauna McGillivray, Ph.D., with mentor Victor Nizet, MD, University of California, San Diego

2008 Hartwell Fellow Laura Crotty Alexander, MD, University of California, San Diego

Hartwell Fellows