The Hartwell Foundation


2010 Class of Hartwell Fellows

Memphis, TN, December 31, 2011 - The Hartwell Foundation announced its 2010 class of Hartwell Fellows, which provide funding to US citizens for postdoctoral training in biomedical science at select research institutions in the United States. The Fellowships offer support for two years at $50,000 direct cost per year to support scientists in the early stages of biomedical research careers by enabling them to pursue further specialized training as part of their career development.

Institutions that fully participated in the 2010 process for Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards received the right to designate a Hartwell Fellowship award, effective January 2011.  Qualifying institutions designated the following individuals in November 2010 to receive the award:

Cornell University

Mary Ann Dassah, Ph.D.
Cell and Developmental Biology

Duke University

Leah Johnson, Ph.D.
Biomedical Engineering

The Johns Hopkins University

Jonathan Pindrik, MD

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Joshua P. Scallon, Ph.D.
Genetics and Tumor Cell Biology, withdrew for personal reasons

Zach Faber, Ph.D.
Pathology: appointed August 2011 to complete term

University of California San Diego

Lori Broderick, MD, Ph.D.
Allergy and Immunology

The University of Michigan

Brian Gray, MD
Pediatric Surgery: withdrew to assume a position in the UM Extracorporeal Life Support Research Laboratory, December 2011

Benjamin S. Bryner, MD
Pediatric Surgery: appointed January 2011 to complete the term

University of Pittsburgh

Cheryl Lynn Clauson, Ph.D.
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Margaret Julian Trost, MD
Pediatrics: withdrew January 2011 for personal reasons

Kari M. Severson, Ph.D.
Immunology: appointed February 2011 to complete the term; withdrew October 2011 for personal reasons

Daniel R. Dries, Ph.D.
Neuroscience: appointed October 2011 to complete the term

University of Virginia

Erin Pennock Foff, MD, Ph.D.

The University of Wisconsin Madison

Lindsey Moser, Ph.D.
Medical Microbiology and Immunology

The Hartwell Foundation is honored to provide financial support to these outstanding young scientists. Each qualifying institution chose an exceptional individual with high promise in the field of biomedical research. The award will enable the recipient to pursue further specialized training in an area of science that they passionately wish to pursue.



2010 Hartwell Fellow Mary Ann Dassah, Ph.D., with mentor Katherine A. Hajjar, MD, Cornell University

2010 Hartwell Fellow Jonathan Pindrik, MD, with mentor Edward Ahn, MD, The Johns Hopkins University

2010 Hartwell Fellow Erin Pennock Foff, MD, Ph.D., with mentor Mani Mahadevan, MD, University of Virginia


2010 Hartwell Fellow Lindsey Moser, Ph.D., with mentor Laura Knoll, Ph.D., The University of Wisconsin Madison


2010 Hartwell Fellow Kari M. Severson, Ph.D., with mentor Lora Hooper, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


2010 Hartwell Fellow Leah Johnson, Ph.D., with mentor Gabriel P. Lopez, Ph.D., Duke University


2010 Hartwell Fellow Lori Broderick, MD, Ph.D., with mentor Harold M. Hoffman, M.D., University of California, San Diego


2010 Hartwell Fellow Bryan Gray, MD, with mentor George Mychaliska, MD, The University of Michigan


2010 Hartwell Fellow Cheryl Lynn Clauson, Ph.D., with mentor Laura J. Niedernhofer, MD, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh


2010 Hartwell Fellow Josh Scallon, Ph.D., with mentor Guillermo Oliver, Ph.D., St Jude Children's Research Hospital


2010 Hartwell Fellow Zach Faber, Ph.D., with mentor James Downing, MD, St Jude Children's Research Hospital

Hartwell Fellows