The Hartwell Foundation


2007 Class of Hartwell Fellows

Memphis, TN, December 28, 2008 - The Hartwell Foundation announced its 2007 class of Hartwell Fellows, which provide funding to US citizens for postdoctoral training in biomedical science at select research institutions in the United States. The Fellowships offer support for two years at $50,000 direct cost per year to support scientists in the early stages of biomedical research careers by enabling them to pursue further specialized training as part of their career development.

Institutions that fully participated in the 2007 process for Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards received the right to designate a Hartwell Fellowship award, effective January 2008.  In 2007, qualifying institutions designated the following individuals to receive Fellowship support from The Hartwell Foundation:

Cornell University

Gretchen J. McAuliffe, Ph.D.
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Duke University

Terri Ellis, Ph.D.
Department of Biochemistry

The Johns Hopkins University

William Adam Gower, MD
Department of Pediatrics

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Allison Williams, Ph.D.
Department of Structural Biology

University of California San Diego

Douglas A. Mitchell, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology: resigned effective August 2009 to pursue a faculty position at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Department of Chemistry with a secondary affiliation in the Institute for Genomic Biology

Junyu Xiao, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology: appointed August 2009 to complete remaining term

The University of Michigan

Megan N. Ballinger, Ph.D.
Department of Internal Medicine

University of Pittsburgh

Drew D. Dudgeon, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Alfred J. Robison, Jr. Ph.D.
Department of Neuroscience: resigned October 2008 to move with Dr. Eric Nestler to the Mt. Sinai School of Medicine in New York City to complete his postdoctoral training

Jennifer Ronesi, Ph.D.
Department of Neuroscience: appointed October 2008 to complete remaining term

University of Virginia

Cynthia M. Grimsley-Myers, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology

The University of Wisconsin Madison

Lisa Y. Lenertz, Ph.D.
Department of Biomolecular Chemistry

The Hartwell Foundation is honored to provide financial support to these outstanding young scientists. Each qualifying institution chose an exceptional individual of high promise in the field of biomedical research, enabling the recipient to achieve professional training in an area of science that they passionately wish to pursue.

2007 Hartwell Fellow Gretchen McAuliffe, Ph.D.  Cornell University, Ithaca

2007 Hartwell Fellow Douglas Mitchell, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego


2007 Hartwell Fellow Drew D. Dudgeon, Ph.D. (R) with mentor, John S. Lazo, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh


2007 Hartwell Fellow Terri Ellis, Ph.D., Duke University


2007 Hartwell Fellow Jennifer Ronesi, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center




2007 Hartwell Fellow Allison Williams, Ph.D.,   St. Jude Children's Research Hospital




2007 Hartwell Fellow Alfred J. Robinson, Ph.D.  University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center




2007 Hartwell Fellow Lisa Y. Lenertz-Lindemer, Ph.D., The University of Wisconsin Madison



2007 Hartwell Fellow Megan N. Ballinger, Ph.D., The University of Michigan

2007 Hartwell Fellow William Adam Gower, MD,  The Johns Hopkins University

2007 Hartwell Fellow Junyu Xiao, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

2007 Hartwell Fellow Cynthia Grimsley-Myers, Ph.D. (seated) with mentor Xiaowei Lu, Ph.D., University of Virginia


Hartwell Fellows