The Hartwell Foundation


2023 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research

Memphis, TN, April 15, 2023 The Hartwell Foundation today officially announced its 2023 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research. Each year the Foundation invites selected institutions in the United States to nominate individuals to compete for Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards for early-stage, innovative, and cutting-edge biomedical research with the potential to benefit children. The Award provides funding to individual researchers for three years at $100,000 direct cost per year.

The Hartwell 2023 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research include (in alphabetical order):

  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Yale University

The Hartwell Foundation invites each Top Ten Center to nominate up to three (3) researchers for a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award. In addition, Boston University, Drexel University, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Northwestern University, and the University of Pennsylvania have been selected for limited participation and may submit up to two (2) Nominees for the same competition. The Foundation will select at least ten individuals to receive a 2022 Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award, with announcement in April 2023.

"In our 18th year, The Hartwell Foundation is pleased to invite these outstanding research institutions to nominate individuals for a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award. Each institution is asked to identify individual researchers emboldened by discovery or distinguished by creative insight who propose risk-taking innovation that addresses an unmet need, which, if successful, has the potential for clinical translation to benefit children," said Fred Dombrose, President of The Hartwell Foundation.

For each Nominee selected for funding, the sponsoring participating institution will qualify to receive one Hartwell Fellowship that they are asked to designate to a qualified postdoctoral candidate in biomedical research who exemplifies the values of the Foundation. The Fellowships offer support for two years at $50,000 direct cost per year to individuals in the early stage of their career by enabling them to pursue further specialized research training as part of their professional development.

In selecting each research center of excellence, The Hartwell Foundation considers the shared values the institution has with the Foundation relating to children's health, the presence of an associated medical school and biomedical engineering program, and the quality and scope of ongoing biomedical research. The Foundation also considers the institutional commitment to support collaboration, provide encouragement, and extend technical support to the investigator, especially as related to translational approaches and technology transfer that could promote rapid clinical application of research results. Selection of an institution for participation in any given year does not guarantee selection in a subsequent year.

For additional information see

Top Ten Centers