The Hartwell Foundation


2009 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research

  • Duke University
  • The Johns Hopkins University
  • The University of Wisconsin Madison
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
  • The University of Michigan
  • University of California San Diego
  • Cornell University
  • University of Virginia

The Hartwell Foundation invites each participating institution to nominate four individuals for a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award.

In addition, Boston University and the University of California at Davis were selected at-large for limited participation in the nomination process. Both institutions are eligible to compete for Individual Biomedical Research Awards by nominating two individuals in the same process as those nominees derived from the Hartwell Top Ten.

Top Ten research institutions that fully participate in The Hartwell Foundation nomination process receive a Hartwell Biomedical Research Fellowship to fund one postdoctoral candidate of their choice for two years.

In selecting each research center of excellence, The Hartwell Foundation takes into account the shared values the institution has with the Foundation relating to children's health, the presence of an associated medical school and biomedical engineering program, and the quality and scope of ongoing biomedical research. The Foundation also considers the institutional commitment to support collaboration, provide encouragement, and extend technical support to the investigator, especially as related to translational approaches and technology transfer that could promote rapid clinical application of research results.

2008 Hartwell Investigator Mala Mahendroo, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Top Ten Centers