The Hartwell Foundation


2020 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research

Memphis, TN, April 15, 2020 The Hartwell Foundation today officially announced its 2020 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research. Each year the Foundation invites selected institutions in the United States to nominate individuals to compete for Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards for early-stage, innovative, and cutting-edge biomedical research with the potential to benefit children. The Individual Award provides funding to researchers for three years at $100,000 direct cost per year. The Hartwell 2020 Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research include (in alphabetical order):

  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of California, San Diego
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Yale University

"We are pleased to recognize Yale University as a Top 10 Center. Since being named a limited participant in the 2010 competition they have earned 8 Individual Biomedical Research Awards. Yale has made an outstanding institutional commitment to the Hartwell process," said Fred Dombrose, Ph.D., President of the Foundation.

The Hartwell Foundation invites each Top Ten Center to nominate up to three (3) researchers for a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award. In addition, Boston University, Drexel University, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Northwestern University, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, and the University of Pennsylvania have also been selected for limited participation, and may submit up to two (2) Nominees for the same competition. The Foundation will select at least ten individuals in 2020 to receive a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award, with announcement of recipients in April 2021.

For each Nominee selected for funding, the sponsoring participating institution will qualify to receive a Hartwell Fellowship to fund one postdoctoral candidate in biomedical research who exemplifies the values of the Foundation. The Fellowships offer support for two years to individuals in the early stage of their career by enabling them to pursue further specialized research training as part of their professional development. Each Fellowship provides funding at $50,000 direct cost per year.

In selecting each research center of excellence, The Hartwell Foundation takes into account the shared values the institution has with the Foundation relating to children's health, the presence of an associated medical school and biomedical engineering program, and the quality and scope of ongoing biomedical research. The Foundation also considers the institutional commitment to support collaboration, provide encouragement, and extend technical support to the investigator, especially as related to translational approaches and technology transfer that could promote rapid clinical application of research results. Selection of an institution for participation in any given year does not guarantee selection in a subsequent year.

Top Ten Centers