The Hartwell Foundation


2018 Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards

Memphis, TN, April 01, 2019 - The Hartwell Foundation today officially announced the 2018 recipients of Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards, which will provide support for three years at $100,000 direct cost per year. Twelve individuals representing ten institutions received recognition as Hartwell Investigators:

  • David R. Busch, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Anesthesiology and Pain Management, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for Monitoring Cerebral Blood Flow Autoregulation to Prevent Brain Injury During Extracorporeal Life Support
  • Alison J. Carey, MD, Associate Professor Pediatrics, Drexel University for Targeted Blockade of Toll-like Receptors in Respiratory Viral Infection
  • Eileen T. Chambers, MD, Associate Professor Pediatrics, Duke University for an Acoustic Device to Prevent Antibody Mediated Organ Transplant Failure
  • Hiutung "Hiu" Chu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Pathology, University of California, San Diego for Beneficial Bacteria to Induce Regulatory T cells as a Therapy for Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Nicole Coufal, MD, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Pediatrics, University of California, San Diego for Inflammatory Developmental Hypothesis for Autism Spectrum Disorder and Developmental Delay
  • Bethany P. Cummings, DVM, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Biomedical Sciences, Cornell University for Harnessing the Alpha Cell for Diabetes Treatment
  • Ellen F. Foxman, MD, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Laboratory Medicine, Yale University for a Novel Diagnostic Test to Reduce Antibiotic Overuse
  • Marie C. Heffern, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Chemistry, University of California, Davis for Metal Micronutrient Status as a Biomarker and Treatment Target for Obesity and Metabolic Disease
  • C. Daniel Meliza, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Psychology, University of Virginia for Early Detection of Auditory Learning Deficits in a Novel Model of Dyslexia and Other Developmental Language Disorders
  • Irene M. Ong, Ph.D., Assistant Professor Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of Wisconsin-Madison for Machine Learning to Identify Diagnostic or Therapeutic Biological Markers for Allergic Disease
  • Lisa G. Roth, MD Assistant Professor Pediatrics, Cornell University for Genotyping the Rare Cancer-Initiating Cell in Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Elizabeth W. Tucker, MD,Assistant Professor Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Johns Hopkins University for Host-Targeted Theranostic Dendrimer to Monitor and Treat Meningitis

The award-winning proposals for 2018 represent innovative and cutting-edge technology representing Medicine and Biomedical Engineering, in research areas that include Cancer, Medical Devices, Medical Diagnostics, Molecular Biology, Neurobiology, Physiology, and Infectious Disease. The Hartwell Foundation is pleased to provide financial support to these exceptional scientists who are pursuing biomedical research to advance children’s health.

Each year The Hartwell Foundation invites a limited number of institutions in the United States to hold an internal open competition to nominate candidates from their faculty who are involved in early-stage, innovative, and cutting-edge biomedical research that has not yet qualified for significant funding from outside sources. In the 2018 competition, 17 institutions were invited to participate. Based upon the Nominees submitted, the Foundation selected 12 researchers from ten different institutions to receive a Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Award. Notably, Cornell and UC San Diego each received two Individual Awards.

“The 2018 competition was once again very competitive, with diversity in strategic innovation and translational research that offers the potential to impact directly healthcare outcomes to benefit children. Nominees who received an award leveraged internal support and guidance from their participating institution, as well as the experience of previous Hartwell Investigators,” said Fred Dombrose, President of The Hartwell Foundation.

While significant early-stage funding benefits the individual researcher, participating Hartwell institutions also receive recognition in the form of a Hartwell Fellowship. For each Nominee selected for an Individual Biomedical Research Award the sponsoring participating institution receives one Hartwell Fellowship that they are asked to designate to a qualified postdoctoral researcher in the early stage of their career. Each Fellowship provides support for two years at $50,000 direct cost per year to enable specialized training in biomedical research.

“The Hartwell Foundation seeks to inspire innovation and achievement by offering individual researchers an opportunity to realize their professional goals. Our approach is to be unique, selective, thorough and accountable. We provide an opportunity for those we support to make a difference and to realize their hopes and dreams,” said Fred Dombrose, President of The Hartwell Foundation. In selecting awardees, the Foundation takes into account the compelling and transformative nature of the proposed innovation, the extent to which a strategic or translational approach might accelerate the clinical application of research results to benefit children of the United States, the extent of collaboration in the proposed research, the institutional commitment to provide encouragement and technical support to the investigator, and the extent to which funding the investigator will make a difference.

For additional information see