The Hartwell Foundation


2006 Inaugural Class Individual Biomedical Research Awards

Memphis, TN, April 01, 2007 -- The Hartwell Foundation today officially announced its 2006 inaugural class of Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards, which provides funding to individual researchers at eligible research institutions in the United States for three years at $100,000 direct cost per year. The Foundation chose twelve Hartwell Investigators to receive an Award:

  • Frederic G. Barr, MD, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, for Role of Overexpressed MicroRNAs in the Pediatric Cancer Alveolar Rhabdomyosarcoma.
  • Kenneth M. Brady, MD, Assistant Professor, Division of Pediatric Critical Care and Pediatric Anesthesiology, School of Medicine, The Johns Hopkins University, for Measuring Vascular Reactivity in Children with Brain Injury: Defining Autoregulation to Improve ICU Care.
  • Sean B. Fain, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Medical Physics, School of Medicine and Public Health, The University of Wisconsin, for Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Lungs in Early Childhood Asthma
  • Guoping Feng, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Neurobiology, School of Medicine, Duke University, for Unraveling Brain Circuitry Defects in Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders
  • Bruce Klein, MD, Professor, Departments of Pediatrics, Internal Medicine, and Medical Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine and Public Health, The University of Wisconsin, for Stemming the Growing Tide of Systemic Fungal Infections in Children
  • Guosheng Liang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, for Insig-Mediated Regulation of Cholesterol Homeostasis in Cleft Palate
  • Andrew A. Pieper, MD, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Biochemistry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, for Discovery of Small Molecules Having Neurogenic Efficacy for Treatment of Childhood Schizophrenia
  • Gary A. Silverman, MD, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine, University of Pittsburgh, for Development of an in vivo Model of Conformational Disease for High Throughput Genetic and Drug Screens.
  • Jingdong Tian, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Pratt School of Engineering, Duke University, for New Technologies and Methods for Developing Optimized Quick-Response DNA Vaccines for Infectious Diseases
  • James A. Wells, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, University of California San Francisco, for Novel Drug Targets for Leukemias.
  • Victor C. Yang, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Science, College of Pharmacy, The University of Michigan, for Synchronized MRI and Drug Therapy for Pediatric Brain Tumors.
  • Jian Zuo, Ph.D., Associate Member, Department of Developmental Neurobiology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, for Hair Cell Regeneration by Inactivating Genes in the Rb Pathway in Supporting Cells in Mice.

The Hartwell Foundation is honored to provide financial support to these outstanding researchers in biomedical research. Each qualifying institution nominated exceptional individuals, representing impeccable science, each with high relevance in terms of potential benefit to children. In each case, the Foundation took into account the institutional commitment to provide technical support to the investigator, the role of collaboration in the proposed research, and translational approaches that could promote rapid clinical application of research results to the patient.


2006 Hartwell Investigator Sean Fain, Ph.D. (R) with 2006 Hartwell Fellow James Holmes, Ph.D., The University of Wisconsin Madison

2006 Hartwell Investigator Jingdong Tian, Ph.D., Duke University

2006 Hartwell Investigator Guosheng Liang, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern

2006 Hartwell Investigator Frederic G. Barr, MD, Ph.D. (front) with coworkers